A group responsible for the Oscars has chosen more than twelve individuals to serve on its board of governors, according to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences as of Monday. The board for 2024-2025 includes both newcomers, such as director Patricia Cardoso, and seasoned members like Rita Wilson, Pam Abdy from Warner Bros., and composer Lesley Barber.

Organization behind the Oscars elects board of governors for 2024-25 term

Among the new appointees to the board are production designer K.K. Barrett and producer Jennifer Fox. They will be joining the ranks of Ava DuVernay, Lou Diamond Phillips, Whoopi Goldberg, Jason Reitman, Ruth E. Carter, and Jason Blum on the 55-person board that represents the organization’s 19 branches.

Date at Cricket, time for Cricket! Watch the game anytime, anywhere on Cricket. Discover more

With this election, the representation of individuals from underrepresented racial or ethnic backgrounds has risen from 25% to 27%. Female representation has remained constant at 53% compared to the previous year.

Their responsibilities include supervising the academy’s strategic and financial affairs and participating in policy decisions regarding memberships and awards. A notable recent development is the decision to introduce an award for casting directors of films released in 2025 and beyond. Furthermore, the board determines the recipients of honorary Oscar statuettes each year at the non-televised Governors Awards event.

Following a successful Oscars ceremony that received positive feedback and experienced an increase in viewership, the organization is currently in a good position. In addition, last month the academy launched a $500 million fundraising initiative to secure long-term, global support for its Oscar awards, museum, and educational initiatives in preparation for its 100th anniversary in 2028.

This news article has been auto-generated and has not been altered.